Women’s Giving Connection of Southern Idaho:

The Women’s Giving Connection of Southern Idaho (WGC) was conceived by our founding president and community leader, Linda Watkins.   Official planning got underway in 2018 with Linda Watkins and fellow community volunteers and philanthropists Lori Ward,  Kathy MacMillan and Sami Ashenbrener serving as the founding Executive Committee for the Board of Directors.

The goals of the WGC include providing pooled giving opportunities by an inclusive and diverse group of women for the purpose of dedicated grant making to local non-profits as well as building a collective giving endowment through the Idaho Community Foundation.

Formal kick off activities and membership meeting took place December 2021, and we look forward to growing our membership and granting each and every year.


  • Gather women who care about our community and want to increase social consciousness with collective investing and grant making.
  • As a group, determine and address the greatest needs in our community.
  • Educate and motivate women to make a difference locally and get involved with local community needs.

Our Impact

  • Gathering and using this collective energy for positive change in our community.

Our Timeline

  • February – Grant form, guidelines and criteria developed using Executive Committee and any members who are interested in serving on the grants committee
  • March – Grant cycle open on website
  • April – Written applications reviewed by grant committee
  • May – Presentations by grant finalists given to membership
  • May – Electronic voting by entire WGC membership
  • June or July – Summer Social and Awards luncheon for grant recipients and board members
  • September – WGC Education and Membership event
  • December – Social meeting-membership contribution requested by year end

Our Structure

Executive Committee 

  • President
  • Past President
  • VP (moves into President)
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Grant Committee Chairman

Committees: 2 year assignments with chair

  • Grant Committee

    Membership /Special Events Committee

    Community Engagement/Social Media Committee